green corduroy miette skirt

Why hello there! I’ve been rather lazy about sharing my recent makes, but maybe I’ll start doing better. Or maybe not. I make no promises. But I did finally take some snaps of my recently made miette skirt. And here it is!

greenmiette1 greenmiette3

greenmietteback2 greenmiettefloor

I had decided that I was not a skirt gal and during the “moving soon” closet purge, I got rid of most of them and stored the few I kept. Which meant I literally have zero skirts in my closet here. And despite a simple skirt often being a first project for the beginning garment sewist, I’ve never made one — I guess because I didn’t wear skirts much (or ever). As you can see though, I changed that!

Pattern deets: This is the miette skirt by Tilly & the buttons. A simple pattern, the most strenuous part was sewing and turning the long strips for ties. If I do become a skirt gal, this is definitely the shape I like. Cinch in the the waist and flare around the hips. I did take a good 4″ off the length, and probably could’ve take off more if it’s a skirt always to be worn with tights. I suppose the pattern is made to be fairly long and I have quite short legs so that’s probably a typical adjustment. Otherwise I made no changes to the pattern.

Fabric deets: Green corduroy by Robert Kaufman. I think it’s this one. I’ve also used the orange corduroy from this line for a Washi dress (never blogged), and I have some turquoise (not sure what to make yet). It’s a good quality corduroy; I think most of the Kaufman fabrics are trustworthy.

So maybe I’ll become a skirt gal! This isn’t my favorite look (on me anyway), but it’s growing on me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to green corduroy miette skirt

  1. Annette says:

    Here from PR, and I really like your skirt. It is a great job and looks fantastic. TFS, Annette

  2. Linda says:

    Love that skirt Erin! The shape looks great on you and was perfect for that corduroy!

Leave a Reply

